eBay accounts can be hard to delete, But you’ve got that eBay account just lying dormant and is not being used by you anymore, it could be because you registered another account or you are not satisfied with eBay services anymore, whatever the reason maybe it is understandable.
Deleting an eBay account can be most times complex but here are few simple steps to go about it.
Deleting Your eBay Account
- Go to the eBay website via chrome or firefox browser .
- Login in to your eBay account providing your Email and password.
- Click on the account settings that are at the top left of your Home page .
- Check for the account tab and click on Account preference
- Choose close account by selecting close and delete my data
- You will be given a free tab to input the reason for closing your account
- Confirm by selecting Close my account again from the pop-up menu
- Tick the blank box stating you’ve read and understood the above information
- Select Continue, and your eBay account will be deleted after some time
Why Won’t eBay Let Me Delete My Account?
There are some cases where people complain of not being able to delete their account even after following the simple steps mentioned above. Well, eBay won’t let you delete your account due to certain reasons:
- You are owing a certain amount of fee or haven’t paid for a purchase in full
- You still have some amount of money (no matter how small, in your wallet
- You’ve placed some orders and have not to cancelled them
Under these situations, eBay would not normally let you delete your account until you have rectified the issues stated above
What Happens To My eBay Account After Closing?
After following the simple steps to close your account, there is usually a waiting period. It is not usually that long.
In the waiting stage, your account becomes void, which means that you will not be able to carry out any action with your account, you won’t be able to place any orders and sell any items on your account.
It is as if your account has been deactivated. Once this stage is over your account will automatically be closed and you won’t be able to log in with your username and password anymore and all the details you provided when creating and operating the account will be deleted.
Common Problems Can Be Solved Rather Than Closing.
They are some common issues that can be fixed in your eBay account and rather than opting for deleting your eBay account, it may be preferable to fix such issues.
You can fix your issues by sending an email to them stating your problems. You will be attended to by their support client personnel. Remember closing the account is always the last option.
If you have an eBay account that is no longer useful to you and is dormant then hurry now and close the account to ensure that your private information is deleted from their service and to stop receiving some annoying emails.
Was this post helpful:
Share the post if you find it helpful and informative. Don’t forget to drop your comment about the post.