Recently, there have been several messaging apps such as Facebook Messenger, Telegram, and Whatsapp, so you might want to delete your Viber account as there may be no need of keeping numerous messaging apps on your phone.
At the end of this article, you should know how to delete your Viber account, the difference between deactivating and uninstalling your Viber account as well as frequently asked questions about the topic under discussion.
That being said, let’s get right to it.
Delete Your Viber Account – How To Get It Done
To delete your Viber account, please take the following steps:
Step 1: Open the Viber app on your phone.
Step 2: Go to the bottom right corner of your screen, and click More.
Step 3: Select Settings on the page, and the settings page, and select Account.
Step 4: Click on Deactivate the account.
Step 5: Enter your phone number and click on DEACTIVATE ACCOUNT.
Here, a popup will appear, please select DEACTIVATE to confirm that you truly want to delete your Viber account.
Frequently Asked Questions About Deleting Your Viber Account
1. What happens after I deactivate my Viber account?
Once you deactivate a Viber account on your device, the following happens:
- All of your data including your call and message history, groups, and downloaded stickers, both free and paid will be cleared on this device.
- Your Viber contacts will no longer see you as a Viber user.
- All other accounts such as Twitter, Facebook, and so on linked to your Viber account will be unlinked from the service.
- Any bough Viber Out credit will remain on this account, but you can reach out to Viber support through their email and request a credit transfer to a new Viber account.
- If you deactivate Viber on the device that you used in registering with the service, the app will also be deactivated on all other devices.
- Once you deactivate your account, you will be unable to restore any of your user data because Viber does not store any of your message histories and is unable to retrieve lost data.
- Furthermore, even if you re-register to Viber using the same mobile phone number, your former account history will not be restored.
2. How can I backup my Viber Chats?
Having known that once you deactivate your Viber account, you will lose your chat history, the ideal thing to do is to create a backup of your Viber chats for safekeeping before deactivating your account.
Follow these steps listed below to back up your chat history before deleting your Viber account:
Step 1: Launch Viber on your iPhone.
Step 2: Click on More in the tab area alongside the bottom.
Step 3: Select Settings to access options.
Step 4: Select Calls and Messages.
Step 5: Choose Email message history.
Once you do this, a mail composing sheet will pop up. Type in your email address in the TO: field and click on Send to send yourself the attached ZIP file containing Viber’s message history.
You must note that your backed-up history is available for your convenience and cannot be restored onto this or another device.
Additionally, messaging history backup is available only on Android and iPhone.
Read Also: How To Delete Your Telegram Account – Solved
3. How can I reactivate my Viber account?
Step 1: Download and launch Viber on your iPhone.
Step 2: Follow the on-screen guide to re-register your mobile phone number with the service, however, your message and call history will not be restored.
4. What is the difference between deactivating and uninstalling a Viber account?
The major difference between them is your account status.
If you uninstall, you can still access your account in the future but if you deactivate, then your account is deleted.
I have exhaustively shown you how to delete your Viber account as well as answered some of the questions you may have about the topic.
I hope that you find this article helpful, if yes, do let me know in the comment section.
All the best!