Are you stuck trying to delete your Snapchat account? If your answer is yes, stay with me.
Before I proceed, you have to take note of the implication of deleting your Snapchat account to know if you still want to get rid of your account.
Let’s delve into it.
What Happens If You Delete Your Snapchat Account?
Once you delete your Snapchat account, an invisible 30-day timer starts.
This means that you have just over four weeks to change your mind because, upon the expiration of the 30 days, Snapchat deletes the following data from its system:
- Account settings
- Location data
- Device data
However, please note that some of your personal information may remain in the database in case of “certain legal, security and business needs.”
Now that you know what awaits you when you delete your Snapchat account, let’s look at how to go about it.
How To Easily Delete Your Snapchat Account
Although you will not find anything that takes you through the process of how to delete your Snapchat account on your Snapchat settings, you can get this done from a web browser.
Follow these steps to get rid of it.
Step 1: Go to your web browser and put in accounts.snapchat.com, then sign in to your Snapchat account.
Please, note that if you have login verification enabled, a code will be sent to your mobile device and you are to enter it into the given field before you can sign in.
Step 2: Go to Manage My Account, and under it choose to Delete My Account.
Step 3: Put in your login details in the fields on the following page and click Continue.
Step 4: On the next page, you’ll receive a message stating that your account is in the process of being deactivated.
If you open the mobile app, you will observe that your deactivation prompt will have caused you to be automatically signed out.
Step 5: If you want to delete your Snapchat account permanently, you have to wait for 30 days after deactivating your account.
Frequently Asked Questions About Snapchat Account
1. How can I reactivate my Snapchat account?
In case you decide not to delete your Snapchat account again, you can always reactivate it as long as it is done within 30-days of deactivating it.
To achieve this, sign in to your Snapchat account using your username and your password (not your email address).
However, if you deactivated your account recently, and now you want to reactivate it, you might need to wait a little while until the deactivation process is complete.
According to Snapchat, this could take up to 24 hours.
That being said, if you verified your email address on your account, you would be notified via email that your account has been successfully deactivated, and then you can go ahead and sign in to your account to reactivate it.
2. How can I download my Snapchat data?
Of course, your Snapchat data includes your login history, profiles, account information, memories, friends, snap and chat history, search history, Bitmoji, and more.
Before you proceed to delete your account, you can download your Snapchat data to retain the information.
Take the steps below to download your Snapchat data.
Step 1: Go to accounts.snapchat.com, and log into your account.
Step 2: Click My Data and then click Submit Request.
Step 3: You’ll be sent a download link to your verified Snapchat email address.
Step 4: Download your data using the link that was sent to you.
I have successfully walked you through the process of deleting your Snapchat account, and as you can see, it’s an easy one.
I advise that you follow these steps, and you will delete your Snapchat account in a few minutes.
Was this article helpful? Do let me know in the comment section.