This article provides all available information on how to delete or deactivate your Paypal account.
PayPal accounts are simple to create, usually free and can be used for speedy transactions.
However, there are a variety of reasons why you might wish to delete your PayPal account, such as wanting to switch to an alternative like Venmo, or you are dissatisfied with specific PayPal fees, or you want to start an account with a new email address.
Whatever reason you have for deleting your Paypal account, here’s how to permanently deactivate and delete a PayPal account.
Reasons You May Want To Delete Your PayPal Account?
There could be several reasons why you want to delete your PayPal account, such as:
- You have a business Paypal account and your company is closing down.
- You want to switch to a different service, such as Venmo or Wise.
- You want to create a new account with a different email address.
- You may also be opposed to the few payments for certain actions.
- You want to keep your finances confidential.
Whatever your reason, deleting your PayPal account is a smart idea if you never intend to use it again.
PayPal might be secure, but you should exercise caution when using any online service that stores your personal and financial information.
You May Like: How To Delete Your Monese Account – Solved
What To Know Before Deleting Your Paypal Account
There are a few things you should know before you go ahead to delete or deactivate your PayPal account.
- First and foremost, once you remove your account, it is permanently deleted. And although, you can open a new PayPal account with a different and even the same email address, everything associated with your previous account will be permanently destroyed.
This means that you will lose your transaction history, therefore you should make a backup before deleting your account.
- Another thing you should do is to withdraw any remaining funds from your Paypal account. This can be accomplished by transferring money to another PayPal account, transferring it to a bank account, or requesting a PayPal check.
And you can also use the balance to make online purchases or to donate to a deserving cause.
- You will not be able to delete your account if you have an outstanding balance from PayPal credit, outstanding payments, or other concerns with your account.
Depending on the nature of the issue, you may still need to contact customer support.
How To Permanently Delete Your PayPal Account
- Log in to your PayPal account and select the gear icon in the upper right corner.
- Go to the Account tab and, in the Account settings section, you should click on Close your account.
A warning message will appear. Click to Close your account if you’re certain you want to delete it. Your account has been permanently removed. Your transaction history and any PayPal balance will be erased.
Don’t forget to transfer your PayPal balance and capture a screenshot of your transactions.
If you are unable to close your account, it is possible that you have an unsolved issue, such as an outstanding PayPal credit amount. If you have any further questions, please contact customer service.
- Check to see whether you have any PayPal balance. Before terminating the account, you can transfer it to your bank account or make any final payments with PayPal. Once you close the account, you will no longer be able to access your PayPal money.
Also Read: How To Delete Your Waking Up Account – Deactivate Waking Up Account
This guide provides simple and easy-to-understand steps on how to delete your Paypal account, follow these steps to protect your privacy by deleting your Paypal account.
Have a great day.