Most times, it’s easier to sign up to an account but deleting it becomes a burdensome task.
If you are experiencing difficulties trying to delete your Twitter account, I bet that you will find this article useful.
Let’s get right to it.
Read Also: How To Delete Your Shein Account
What You Should Know Before You Delete Your Twitter Account
Just before you click the delete or deactivate button, it’s important that you keep the below information in mind:
1. Bear in mind that deleting your Twitter account doesn’t mean that your information will be deleted from search engines like Google or Bing.
This is simply because Twitter has no control over those sites, however, there are a few steps you can take if you contact the search engine.
2 Even after you have deactivated your Twitter account, mentions of your account’s username in other’s Tweets will still be available.
However, it will no longer link to your profile because your profile is now unavailable.
3. If you want to change your username or email, then you don’t have to delete your account associated with your Twitter account.
Just go to Account information to update that.
4. If you log into your account within the 30-day deactivation window, your account will be restored.
5. You need to request your Twitter data if you want to download it before you deactivate your account.
6. Deactivating your account does not remove data from Twitter database, they may withhold some information on your deactivated account to ensure the safety and security of its platform and its users.
7. Once you deactivate your Twitter account, your username (or “handle”) and public profile will not be viewable on twitter.com, Twitter for Android or Twitter for iOS.
That being said, let’s proceed to how to delete your Twitter Account.
How To Delete Your Twitter Account
You must understand that you have to deactivate your Twitter account first before your account can be deleted permanently.
Furthermore, deactivation lasts for 30 days, and if you don’t access your account within the 30-day deactivation period, your account will be deleted permanently, and your username will no longer be associated with your account.
Please, note that once this is done, you can neither reactivate your former account nor have access to any old Tweets.
It also means that your username will be available for registration by other Twitter accounts.
To deactivate your Twitter account take the following steps:
Step 1: Go to the top menu where you will see a navigation menu icon or your profile icon.
Step 2: Click whichever icon you have, and then click on settings and privacy.
Step 3: Read the account deactivation information, then tap Deactivate.
Step 4: Enter your password when prompted and tap Deactivate.
Step 5: Confirm that you want to proceed by tapping Yes, deactivate.
What happens if I delete Twitter account?
When you cancel your account, all of your tweets, likes, and comments are removed from the site for up to 30 days. Depending on how active your Twitter profile was, this process may take minutes or a few days.
Does deactivating Twitter also delete my direct messages?
During the 30-day deactivation period, your direct messages won’t be deleted. When the deactivation period ends and your account is deleted, direct messages you’ve sent will also be deleted.
Note: If you are having an account issue (e.g. missing Tweets, incorrect follower or following counts, suspicious Direct Messages or potential account compromise), deactivating and reactivating your account will not resolve it. Please refer to our troubleshooting articles or contact Twitter Support.